HELP!

Swim season is here, Chris has our pool in working order (as of last weekend), it’s the perfect temperature of cold, and I have no swimsuit!  As in, none.  Not just I only have ones from years past, or that don’t fit real great or whatever, I do not own a swimsuit.  The past three summers I switched back and forth from a cute swim-dress that faded to near see thru in the sun and a maternity suit that I got rid of in the purging of all things related to maternity clothes back in January.

So, I’ve spent the last month scouring the internet for a suit I both loved and that would fit – I am determined to get something that will last me for as long as it fits (which, honestly I hope isn’t more than just this summer) works well when swimming with Inara (I found her feet would get tangled in my swim dress), is cute, and comfortable – I know, thats a big bill of sale. lol  Oh, and I didn’t want to pay a fortune for it – although my definition of “a fortune” has altered somewhat now after all the looking I’ve been doing.

So, I’ve narrowed down the candidates to two different sites – ModCloth and Land’s End.  But now I need help getting the options down from 8! to one.

Here are the final contenders:

ModCloth Options

First off, let me just say I LOVE ModCloth – I love the vintage/retro style and the super cute everything – just not the price tags usually.


This is my absolute favorite option, there are just two drawbacks – 1, it’s out of stock, and 2, it’s a halter top (as are all the options from ModCloth). I’ve only had one halter top swimsuit, and I always found the knot uncomfortable (I have a lot of chest to hold up after all). I’m hoping though, that since this halter has wide straps that maybe it would be more comfortable.


This is option B it’s the same as the red in every way except that it’s in stock.


I love the red on this as well, but again it’s out of stock, they restock often though so waiting a week or two should put one or both of these options back in stock – I hope.


This pewter is the same as the red (and the same style as all of them) but the most “safe” option design/color wise.

Lands End Options


These shorts are the entire reason I looked at Lands End. I’ve been saying for years that I wished women’s swimsuits had an option for shorts like men’s board shorts. Finally someone heard me. I love how practical these would be – more coverage, comfortable, easy to wear in and out of the pool (over and over and over again – yay swimming with kids) and nothing for Inara’s feet to get tangled in. The come in white (um, yeah, no) black, and navy – navy being my preference, so the following tops were chosen to coordinate with the navy board shorts.


Again with the polkadots – what can I say, I love ’em. The only thing I’m not sure of with this one is the bow under the chest bit – seems… odd.


I really like the color variance on this top, but I’m afraid it’s placement will “enhance” my bust – which doesn’t need any enhancement at all.


And lastly – this is an aqua top, cute, modest, and I think the colors would work together even though they don’t “match”.

So – any thoughts?