An Ode To Breakfast

The experts all say that “Breakfast is the most important meal of the day.”, or so we are told at least.  I’m not here to debate that point one way or another, I really could care less.  What I am here to say is that I LOVE breakfast, or at least breakfast foods.  There is a strong possibility that I could eat “breakfast” three times a day and be totally happy.

IMG_3081

Rip’s Big Bowl

So, in honor of that meal that is nothing but awesome in my book, I decided to share with you some of my favorite breakfasts, recipes, and other “morning” goodness.

At the start of February, Chris and I embarked upon an Engine 2 Diet 28 day challenge, which basically means that for the month of February we are whole food eating vegans.  The biggest challenge with that has been, of course, the food.  What do we eat?  Well, I am so thankful that the E2 book, comes with a mini cookbook of sorts right inside.  One of the first things we tried, was Rip’s Big Bowl, which is a mixture of various breakfast cereals, fruits, and a plant based milk.  I LOVE it!  We use a combination (1/4 cup each) of Grape NutsShredded Spoon Size Wheat’n Bran, Barbara’s High Fiber Original, and Old Fashioned Rolled Oats.  The recipes suggests walnuts, raisins, and flax meal.  I’ve included all of these, or just some in different amounts.  As for fruit, pile it on whatever you want.  So far my favorites are banana slices, strawberries, and orange segments.  A bit of unsweetened vanilla almond milk on top and you are golden.  This is something I see myself eating for years to come, so glad I found it!

IMG_3053

Rip’s Big Bowl

IMG_3012

Pretty pretty eggs

Eggs, beautiful eggs! Around these parts we are big fans of eggs.  Inara likes hers scrambled with cheese on top, Chris likes his in breakfast tacos or quesaillas (as do I) and my favorite way is soft cooked with toast all cut up and mixed together in a bowl.  We also make them as casseroles, use them in french toast, and so much more.  We love our eggs, and our chickens.

IMG_2830

Breakfast casserole

But, personally, my favorite by leaps and bounds – OATMEAL!

Growing up, I loved the super sugared instant oatmeal (bananas and cream as well as strawberries and cream are favorites) but over the last few years, I have finally learned how to cook, and come to love “real” cooked oatmeal, particularly steel cut oats.  If you’ve never made cooked oats before, there are GREAT instructions on how to cook basic oats of all kinds on wikihow!  That is a link worth keeping, in case you find yourself buying oats in bulk and tossing the instructions (I do it all the time!) and then can’t remember cook times or water requirements, or maybe that’s just me lol.

However, once you’ve mastered how to cook the oats all by their beautiful selves, it’s time to add flavors, find different ways of cooking, and truly exploring oats to their fullest.  I’ve made oatmeal in so many different ways, from following the instructions (see link above), cooking them overnight in the slow-cooker, making steal cut oats in my rice cooker, and just cooking them overnight in jars on the counter.  If you want to experiment with steal cut oats are are looking for the simplest ways to cook them, I really do recommend either the rice maker method, or by cooking it in jars (instructions on thekitchn.com), then you can top your cooked oats any way you want.

If you’re simply looking for different flavors, varieties, or ways to prepare your basic oatmeal, check out the many many many different recipes on Kath Eats Real Food.  That girl LOVES her some oatmeal.  I highly recommend her classic whipped banana oatmeal – it’s really good with steal cut oats, but it’s fantastic whatever oatmeal you chose to use.

There are also lots of recipes over on Family Fresh Cooking, I took the Essential Travel Oatmeal with us on a trip last weekend, it was pretty darn good.

 

OOORRR, if you want something fast, easy, but still wholesome and unprocessed on a busy school day morning, check out the instructions on how to make your own flavored instant oatmeal, again on thekitchn.com.

 

If you are like me, and you can’t get enough oatmeal in any form, check out these two recipes for my favorite baked oatmeal, and homemade granola as well.  Once you are familiar with the recipes, both are highly adaptable and fun to try new variations of.

 

I hope this gives you lots of food for thought, and new ideas for your breakfast (or brinner if thats your preference) or both!

Leave a Reply

