Natural and awesome cleaning with vinegar.

TLIf you have spent time on Pinterest odds are you have seen pins on making natural citrus vinegar soaks. Well, after a while I decided to give it a try myself. For the last month I’ve been playing around with various combinations of not only citrus peels (including one now with orange and cinnamon sticks similar to the link above) but also with herbs after reading a post over at Fresh Eggs Daily about her lavender mint spray.

I just decanted my first pint of the herb vinegar this morning and I LOVE the way it smells, I’m excited to start using it around the house as well as around the animals.

20121107-095412.jpg

I got these nice spray bottles at Container Store I kinda love how they show off the pretty colors of the different vinegars.

I wasn’t sure at first if I’d like the herbs so I didn’t start a second soak, but I do have the citrus soak set up so that I’m getting a new batch every two weeks, and I’m now working on an herb soak so it will be ready every two weeks as well.

20121107-095420.jpg

If you are interested in different combinations and the benefits of various herbs there is a nice (although hardly comprehensive) list here on Fresh Eggs Daily. In the batch of lavender mint I started this morning I also added some camomile to add some antibacterial properties to the mix as well.

I hope you give it a try. I will say I have found that letting the batches soak for a month at a time does seem to offer better results than a shorter two week soak.

Leave a Reply

