Scrumdiddlyumptious “clean” granola for my foodie penpal

My friend Kristin has the best recipe for granola I’ve ever made.  It’s super versitial, fairly healthy (some commercial or even homemade granolas have more calories per serving than sugary cereals or even soft drinks!), and REALLY yummy!  It is aptly named The Best Granola.

I have been using this granola recipe since she put it on her blog, its a favorite of mine and sometimes I make it totally how it’s printed, and sometimes I play around a bit.  Well, yesterday I went off the deep-end LOL.  For my foodie penpal this month I wanted to send some of The Best Granola.  Only problem with that is that my penpal is a Clean Eater (awesome actually, something I have been interested in for years!) In a nutshell, eating clean is the practice of eating whole, natural foods such as fruits, vegetables, lean proteins, and complex carbohydrates. It also means staying away from man-made sugar, bad fats (hydrogenated, trans-fat), preservatives, white bread, and any other ingredients that are unnecessary. As much as I love Kristin’s recipe, 3/4 cup brown sugar is NOT clean lol.  So I played, then then improvised, and then just when I thought I was done, I added on.

Here’s what I came up with:

 

Apple Molasses Granola

Ingredients:

1 cup old fashioned rolled oats

1 cup steal cut oats

1 Tbsp finely chopped walnuts

1/4 cup finely chopped almonds

1/4 cup coconut, unsweetened

1/4 cup blackstrap molasses

1/4 cup agave nector

1 Tbsp water

1 Tbsp vanilla extract

1 tsp ground cinnamon

1 large apple cored, skin on, grated/shredded (I cut mine into four large chunks and used my box grater’s shredding side.

Directions:

Preheat the oven to 250. Line one baking sheets with aluminum foil
Mix the first four ingredients in a large bowl. In a separate bowl, combine the molasses, agave, water, vanilla, and cinnamon; microwave for about 30 seconds and stir. Then pour the liquid over the dry mixture and stir well.  Then add the apple and mix completely.
Spread the granola out as much as possible on your lined baking sheet
Bake at 250 for about an hour, stirring every 20 minutes.
Let it cool and store in an air tight container.
This made 4 1/3 cups and I decided on a 2 TBSP serving size since I usually eat it as a topping on yogurt and such so you don’t need all that much.  In that case it made 70 TBPS or 35 servings.
Nutrition info per serving:
Calories: 45.2, Total fat: 1.1g, cholesterol: 0mg, sodium: 1.5mg, Potassium 86.1mg, Total Carb: 9.6g, Fiber: 1.1g, sugar: 1.9g, Protein: 1.2g
Weight Watchers Points Plus = 1 per serving
Thanks to the blackstrap molasses it’s also full of all kinds of vitamins and trace minerals including calcium, copper, iron (5%!), magnesium and manganese.  So awesome to have a yummy snack thats good for you too!
Leave a Reply

