Menu Plan and all things related to it!

I know it’s been a LONG time since I’ve shared a menu plan here, and for various reasons.  Partly because of Chris’ new pay schedual, he gets paid end of day on Tuesdays, which makes for a big change in our grocery shoping habits, and thus my planing abilities.  We used to go shoping on Saturdays, every week.  We now shop either Tuesday night or Wednesday and only every other week.  SO I’m finding that I’ll plan for my week, but by the time I sit to do that we’ve already gone through one whole day, or maybe even two, and if I only plan a weeks worth then I get to the next week realizing I didn’t plan well, didn’t budget or shop wisely, and I’m scraping things together for week two – or worse, we go out to eat a bunch.  SO – this week I started planing early.  I sat down over the weekend and looked at my past meal plans for the month to see what I’d shoped for and included on our menus but hadn’t made.  Then I took a fridge/freezer/pantry inventory (Chris helped here a bit) tossed expired/freezer burned/unknown science experiment foods and figured out what we had on hand that needed to get used up because it’s just been sitting too long.  In the process I also realized we have a bunch of stuff that has gotten ignored and I just keep buying new instead.

SO

With all that information, I sat and planned our dinners for this week and next, I also made a rough list of what we had/could make for breakfasts and lunch durring that time but didn’t actually make a list/menu to a full extent.

I found a couple new resources lately for menu ideas and lots of good food and even better, healthy eatting ideas.  The first is Pinterest!  When I first started using it, I thought I’d never really do the food aspect, then that resolve slowly gave way, and all last week, if I made new food it was from a recipe I found on Pinterest.  Through that, I’ve also found two new blogs full of healthy foods – 100 Days of Real Food and Skinnytaste.

100 Days of real food is interesting to me.  It’s a blog from a family of 4 (kids age 3 and 5 ish) and they took upon themselves a 100 day challenge to eat “real food” following 14 rules of what you can and can’t eat:

What you CAN eat:

  1. Whole foods
  2. fruits and vegetables
  3. Dairy products
  4. whole-wheat and whole-grains
  5. Seafood
  6. locally raised meats
  7. water, milk, all natural juices, naturally sweetened coffee & tea, and, to help the adults keep their sanity, wine and beer!
  8. Snacks like dried fruit, seeds, nuts and popcorn
  9. All natural sweeteners

What you CANNOT eat:

  1. No refined grains
  2. No refined sweeteners
  3. Nothing out of a box, can, bag, bottle or package that has more than 5 ingredients listed on the label
  4. No deep fried foods
  5. No “fast foods”
I find myself drawn to these guidelines, but at the same time, I have 10 pounds of sugar and flower and 20 pounds of white rice in my garage/freezer (not counting what is in my pantry) that I’m not going to just up and toss.  So, as we use these things I’ll replace them with more wholesome ingredients.  Also, I love ice cream and Dr. Pepper and Chris has a small soda adiction, so ya know, some things just aren’t going to change, I do try and limit consumption though.

Skinnytaste is a great site with LOTS of super yummy recipes and extra bonus, they all have weightwatchers points/nutrition info linked with them – so that’s awesome!  Seriously, if you try only one recipe for the rest of your life, you have to make her Crock Pot Minestrone Soup, its AMAZING!

Without further ado, here’s our meals for this week and next:

Chicken Quesadillas

Out

Grilled Trout

Out

Crock-pot Ravioli Casserole

Bruschetta Chicken

Chicken in Champagne

Spaghetti Squash Lasagna

Small Group

Orange Pine Nut Chicken

Crock Pot Trout

Spaghetti and Meatballs

Tortellini Soup – sub meatballs for sausage

Roasted Red Pepper and Basil Pesto Penne

I also plan on making homemade bread and rolls, Chris wants to can some of the banana peppers he grew this summer (just pulled the last crop off last week), I’ll be making two differant types of marinara, one to can and one to try before making a big batch possibly.  I also want to cook up some granola which I’ve been meaning to do for a while to go with my afternoon snack of vanilla yogurt.

 

I’m really excited to be back on track with a menu plan, and also to be trying a new chapter in healthy eatting for our family.  I’m also thinking of starting ot blog a bit about frugal yet healthful living, posibly including posts on my grocery shoping, how much I spent, what I bought etc. to go along with the menu plan.  Who knows I have lots of ideas and not a lot of organization for the blog here.

 

Hope all is well wherever you are!

 

❤ C

Leave a Reply

