The longest road

I’m not going to lie and say it’s been a great week, nor will I say it’s been the worst – because by far there have been worse!  However, it was not an easy week.  Today marks one full week since I started a new medication and it’s taken it’s toll on my body.  Last Wedensday I went in and had a REALLY good talk with one of the Midwives I see. (seriously, if you live in SA I HIGHLY HIGHLY recommend Lone Star Midwives – they are part of the Lone Star OB/GYN practice and handle pregnancy, well women care, and anything else that a “normal” OB/GYN would – and they are all so sweet, and amazing!)  After talking about what’s been going on, listing most of my symptoms (I forgot a couple, it’s what I get for not writing an actual list) talking about my hesitancy to go on any medication associated with depression or other anti-psychotics for various reason and other things.  She then consulted with two other midwives and the doctor on call regarding my case, they decided to prescribe me Fluozetine (aka Prozac or Sarafem).  Sarafem is used to treat PMDD (premenstrual dysphoric disorder) which is what they were tentatively diagnosing me with.  I also went to the lab for blood tests to check my thyroid, iron levels, and general blood chemicals.

It’s been a really rough week as my body adjusts to everything.  Fluozetine works by effecting the serotonin levels in the body to help regulate mood.  Well serotonin also naturally helps regulate your appetite and sleep.  While I haven’t noticed my appetite being very effected (a little, but not much) my desire to sleep has certainly increased!  I have been tired ALL THE TIME most of the week – to the point that I’ve avoided driving because I wasn’t comfortable “operating heavy machinery”.  The first several days I had to take a nap by the afternoon and still woke up feeling very groggy and foggy.  Today I took a nap, but woke up feeling more refreshed and today and yesterday I’ve been a bit more alert and able to get some things done around the house.  I’m guessing it’ll be at least another week before I’m all adjusted and the medication can really start helping regulate my mood and other issues I’ve been dealing with as opposed to making me just feel exhausted 98% of the time.

 

Needless to say, it’s been a pretty laid back week around here since we haven’t really gone anywhere during the day and only done the required things (grocery shopping) in the evenings.

I did want to share a couple of pictures though – just to make it a bit more fun!

 

We can finally cross "family game night" off the summer list.

 

It took two travel cups of tea to make it through church Sunday - one on the way, one during ABF. This is pretty typical, but even more necessary this week.

 

I cleaned the fridge out on Monday - and tossed a bunch of rotten meat - the house STUNK! I burned candles for the first time in ages!

We got the play dough out - but it was too sticky, pink hands were the proof. I ended up tossing it and making a new batch.

 

pool time fun - but not wanting to take pictures

 

I got this at just the right time! They love to play "jump" - she jumps he catches, repeat

 

Hope your weeks been good, and you have a GREAT weekend

3 thoughts on “The longest road

  1. I would love to talk with you about this sometime….i totally understand. Chin up love, take heart, keep the faith, for you are so very strong and sweet jesus will lighten your load.

  2. We continue to hold you up before the throne of grace in this journey. I pray you will soon feel more like yourself and able to do all you want. Also, I love the last picture the “jump, catch, repeat!” Chris’s face is great, “come on babe, give it to me!” 🙂

Leave a Reply

