Menu Plan Monday: 6/27/11

Happy Monday to you!  I cleaned out my fridge today, tossed gross, expired, or unused items, washed it all including shelves, drawers, and the door shelf things.  It’s sparkling clean, white, and empty looking!  So, this week I tried not to have a menu that required a lot of shopping since I need to re-buy some fridge-pantry staples to replace those I tossed this morning.

So, this weeks menu is based on using what’s already here, and using the items from our Greenling’s local box delivery from friday which contained:

  • Peaches
  • Blueberries
  • Assorted Summer Squash
  • Fennel
  • Basil
  • Avocado
  • Tomatoes
  • Green Beans
  • Summer Peas
  • Indian Cucumber

I’ve never cooked with or directly recall eating Fennel before, so that’s new, and I was super excited about the avocado since they are $2.50 EACH(!) at HEB right now and I really wanted some guacamole to go with our fajitas.

We will also be trying to tackle the small mountain of tomatoes that our two Roma plants are spitting out right now, so I’ll be canning marinara sauce, as well as possibly diced and whole tomatoes and maybe some paste or sauce.  We also have lots of banana peppers coming in so we may be experimenting with pickled peppers for Chris to enjoy on his sandwiches (Jimmy John’s style).

Recipe for Chicken with Fennel, Tomatoes, and Zucchini comes from here: http://www.myrecipes.com

As always, I’ll be linking up

Leave a Reply

