Six Months

It’s been six months, to the day, today.  Six months since I went into an operating room, and came out three hours later.  Six months since I not only lost my baby, but lost the organ used to make more of them as well.  Six months since the final chapter in healing could start.  Six months since I woke up from one nightmare only to find I was still in another.

 

In the past six months I’ve learned a lot.  I’ve grown a lot.  I’ve healed a lot.  In the past six months I’ve noticed slight changes in the way I view things, the way I react to things, and my overall outlook on things.

 

Has six months been enough, will there ever be enough?  I don’t know

 

What I do know is that of the things I’ve learned in the past six months, a lot of them are things I no longer take for granted.

 

Of course there are the obvious ones, like

Babies, and the ability to make your own

 

But there’s also the not so obvious ones, some I should have learned a long time ago and didn’t.  Some I’ve learned before and forgot, but most I’ve never been so aware of before now.

 

Things I hope to never take for granted again (I’m writing them down as a reminder to my future self)

Family

Friends

Community

Fellowship

Love

Hugs

Tears

Shared pain

Laughter

Time together

Time apart

My daughter

The ability to drive your own car

The ability to drive

Help without asking

Understanding

Grocery shopping by yourself

The ability to lift more than 10 pounds

The ability to walk more than a few feet at a time

Movement

Toilets

Showers

Hot baths

Hurt

Feeling

Home

Rest

Activity

Distraction

Focus

Not having to say anything and know they understand

Picking up where you left off

Cooking

Caring for my family

Getting dressed

Hurt

Healing

Hope

One thought on “Six Months

  1. Jeremiah 29:11 For I know the plans I have for you, says the Lord. They are plans for good and not for evil, to give you a future and a hope.

    Thanks for sharing. Keep on hoping. Praise God, He has you in his hands!

Leave a Reply

