Menu Plan Monday

This weeks menu is a total random mash up of leftovers (lots of ham sandwiches from Easter leftovers), whats left in the freezer after a month of sporadic meal planning and lots of eating out, and what I was in the mood for.

We are into spring and summer produce finally, so I’m also starting to get back into the habit of making at least one recipe each week in a large enough batch to freeze.  Last week I made chocolate chip scones and a double batch of blueberry muffins and froze them into single meal portions for breakfasts which worked out GREAT!  I’ll do the same this week with pumpkin scones (using some homemade pumpkin puree we put in the freezer last fall) more chocolate chip scones and more blueberry muffins – hopefully between the three it’ll be enough to last a couple weeks.  I’m also hoping to put up a batch of grape jelly since we are almost out of our store bought jar and Inara is actually eating sandwiches as long as they have purple jelly, and I hate how much added sugar, or worse, high fructose corn syrup, is in the store bought stuff especially since it’s so easy to make (I just bought organic 100% grape juice at the store, then you add pectin and either honey or a small amount of sugar – so much healthier!).

This week I’ll also be going through the pantry, fridge and freezer, both to clean it out and make sure my inventory is up to date so I can make our menu for May.  My goal for next month is to eat only locally (texan) grown, in season produce – especially since our own garden is coming into bloom.

2 thoughts on “Menu Plan Monday

  1. OK- I need to talk to you about how to do this freezing thing! Also, we are going to pick peaches in May- you guys should come with us!

Leave a Reply

