Doing it again with Simple Mom

Stick around (or been around) long enough and you might just get sick of reading me blather on about Simple Mom – one of my favorite blogs. You know what – too bad. :-p

Last week Simple Mom announced a new series on “Back To Basics” which got my attention in a big way. I love simplistic living and have a great interest in learning how to do things like make my own jelly/jam and other such things that with today’s conveniences are becoming lost arts. Besides, I loved how amazingly she approached her cloth diapering series so I knew this one would be great too.

This week’s post topic was on Menu Planning, which is something I try to do, but have gotten bad about. I loved her suggestion about each day having a Theme, and repeating menus twice (only having two menus for the month and flipping every other week) and decided to give it a try. She also suggested posting menus to your blog each week to help keep you accountable in getting it done, so here we are and that’s what I’m doing.

These are the theme’s I decided on, and as we get into following through we may switch what days are what theme, especially in our small group switches what night we meet or something. I may also switch themes out seasonally depending on how the temps and such change, but for now this is what I’ve come up with.

Monday – Pasta
Tuesday – Ethnic (Mediterranean, Tex Mex, Asian, whatever)
Wednesday – Something new
Thursday – Soup, Salad, and/or Sandwiches
Friday – Pizza
Saturday – Something Easy
Sunday – Roast

So, for this week we are having:

Monday – Baked Ziti (salad, bread)
Tuesday – Chicken Enchilada Casserole (rice, beans)
Wednesday – Balsamic-marinated Pork Chops with Grilled Peaches (from the July/August Clean Eating Magazine) (mashed potatoes, salad)
Thursday – Chicken Salad Sandwiches (fruit)
Friday – Pizza (salad, breadsticks)
Saturday – Voila (One of our FAVORITE frozen meals, we usually get the three cheese chicken) (rolls)
Sunday – Pot Roast (potatoes, salad)

So, I’ve pulled one of these puppies from the freezer and have it thawing to eat for dinner tonight. 🙂

What’s on your menu this week?

One thought on “Doing it again with Simple Mom

Leave a Reply

