Monthly check in

I’ve decided that I’ll keep you all abreast of my progress of my goals for 2009 on a monthly basis. That way this blog won’t become all about me, you’ll keep your interest, and I’ll have reasons to post other stuff (like really cute pictures of Inara of course!) This also makes since several of my goals where on a monthly status.

Here’s a recap of what the goals where:
*My goal weight is 160 to start
*Gym 3 times a week for 5k and strength training
*Whole family walk 1 time a week
*EVERY family member gets a birthday card, and friends whose birth dates I have.
*Monthly note cards to specific and random people – at least 5 per month
*Finish 1 sewing/craft project each month.
*Bake 1 cake (or set of cupcakes) each month (take Wilton class)
*Quiet time 5 days a week
*Date night with Chris once a month

Here’s where I stand (I’ll going bottom to top, it’s easier for me that way)
*Haven’t had a date night with just Chris yet this month. Maybe I’ll find a sitter and we’ll go out this weekend (talk to Jen at small group tomorrow and see if they can watch Inara)
*Last week wasn’t so great with quiet times, as in I haven’t had a single one – in part because Inara and I both took turns having a stomach bug, and Inara is still fighting a fever and some general yuckiness. The week before though was great, I had 5 quiet times and got all my work done for both Beth Moore and Interface, and got both verses memorized. Will work harder on that this week.
*I’ve baked two set of cupcakes actually and after payday Friday I’m headed over to Michael s to sign up for the Fondant cake class
*I haven’t actually finished my sewing project yet, but I have started it. I made 6 cat toys and 1 dog toy to add to my Etsy shop. I just need to sew the tops shut, take pictures (of them and the earrings I made at the very beginning of the month) and put them in the shop
*I haven’t sent out this months note cards (or our Christmas Thank You cards) yet, but I did send a letter to every family on my Mom’s side requesting family recipes for another project I have up my sleeve.
*I got all my birthday cards out this month! They were all late because I had no stamps, but they all got sent just the same!
*We haven’t taken a single family walk yet (it’s been really cold, and we’re still working on logistics of time and such)
*I’ve been pretty good about getting to the gym until last week because of Inara and I both being sick. I did make it back today but didn’t get much accomplished because Inara wouldn’t stop crying in the kids care so I couldn’t leave her.

I did get on the scale though, so here’s my update on weight:
Starting weight – 218
This weeks loss -3.5
today’s weight – 212
total lost – 6 pounds!!

I am totally attributing some of that missing 3.5 pounds to the stomach bug this weekend, but hey, I’ll take it however it comes!

A friend online who is also working on weight loss posted a list of mini goals, and I really liked the idea, so I decided to do that as well (helps a little to break it down) here’s what I came up with…

My goal is to lose 2 pounds a week, which should put me at my total goal of 160 by the end of July. (and Chris and I have talked about wanting a Feb/March baby next time around (I don’t want to be 9 months pregnant in July ever again in my life!) Which would mean we’d be just behind schedule for starting to try for baby number 2, but that’s not really important at the moment. Nor am I excited about losing 50 pounds just to turn around and IMMEDIATELY get pregnant! LOL)

So, here is the mini goals (and reward ideas to go with them)
Under 200 by March 1 – Pedicure (yay, I love pedicures!)
Around 185-190 by Easter – New Easter dress (and maybe some cute shoes to go with it!)
Under 180 by Mothers Day – a lovely gift from my husband & daughter (or just myself) maybe a necklace
170 by Fathers Day – something to help Chris celebrate 😉
At Goal by Inara’s Birthday (July 23) – Something really cute to wear to her 2nd party!

If I kept going instead of stopping and trying to add onto the family, I could be at my ultimate and amazing goal of 130-120 by the end of the year with no problem. We’ll cross that bridge when we get there.

Some of you have asked about the Podcast that I’m using to train for the 5k, so I wanted to toss a little link on here and some info. There are a couple different podcasts on iTunes called “Couch to 5K”, but the one I’m using is by Robert Ullrey and is based on the Coolrunning.com training schedule, it seems to be the oldest and the most popular podcast available. For more info on it, visit his website here, or just looking it up in iTunes.

Well, that’s all for now. I do have several more posts in the works, including my latest baking project: Red Velvet Cupcakes with Vanilla Cream Custard filling and Cream Cheese Frosting, the other two posts from Christmas (how behind am I!?), and some general cute stuff for Inara. For now though, I have to go try and catch up on Beth Moore before bible study tonight. 😀

2 thoughts on “Monthly check in

  1. Good job Courtney! It’s pretty inspiring to read this – probably because I could stand to take on all of those goals myself. I still have to write Thank you’s from Christmas too – maybe you could ask me about those next time you see me. Oh and sorry you had the stomach bug! We had a very very short version of it Monday night. Glad you’re on the mend.

  2. Courtney, Great job on making progress on your goals. I am so proud of you. You have inspired me! I agree about being pregnant in July in Texas…I wouldn’t wish that on my worst enemy! 😉 Meg

Leave a Reply

