Giving Cake the Boot

Tomorrow our friend Kate is hosting her son’s 1st birthday party. It’s a cowboy/western theme which sounds really cute. When she approached me in October about making the cake for her, I was a bit apprehensive. My skills still aren’t at the level I would like them to be, and I just wasn’t sure. But at the same time I knew that I could provide something at a higher level than she would have otherwise gotten from your average grocery store bakery. It was also a chance to get my foot hold as far as offering my services to people. I said yes and gave her a great deal on the price (Probably about half of what I “should have” charged).

I just finished the detail work on the cake she chose, which is shaped like a boot and frosted with buttercream (not my strong suit). I have to say that I am wholly pleased with the outcome. Well as much as the perfectionist in me will allow at least. I ended up not having a large enough cake when all the carving and shapping was done (I knew I should have gone with my gut and bought a half sheet cake pan) so we’ve also got a cake on the side which I am about to go ice and decorate as well. And as is the tradition in my family (and for the problem of not having a big enough cake in the first place) I’ve made a small personalized cake for Pierson himself (which I won’t be bothered by at all if Kate doesn’t chose to use it).

I’ll put up pictures tomorrow after the party as I don’t want to spoil the surprise for Kate, the other guests, or the birthday boy himself. 🙂

Sweet dreams 🙂

Leave a Reply

